Newbery Medal Books - 100 Years

The John Newbery Medal has celebrated the most distinguished contributions to American literature for children since 1922. It is awarded annually by the American Library Association (ALA). 2022 marks its 100th anniversary.

Named after 18th century British bookseller John Newbery, the Newbery Medal was proposed by the editor of Publisher's Weekly magazine, Frederic G. Melcher, in 1921. The medal's purpose is:

To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels. To give those librarians, who make it their life work to serve children's reading interests, an opportunity to encourage good writing in this field.


The Last Cuentista Cover Image
When You Trap a Tiger: (Winner of the 2021 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
New Kid Cover Image
Merci Suárez Changes Gears Cover Image
Hello, Universe Cover Image
The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
Last Stop on Market Street Cover Image
The Crossover (The Crossover Series) Cover Image
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures Cover Image
The One and Only Ivan Cover Image
Dead End in Norvelt (Norvelt Series #1) Cover Image
Moon Over Manifest: (Newbery Medal Winner) Cover Image